Why I aborted my pregnancy, Actress Naya opens up

Naya opened up about her struggles in her new book

ACTRESS NAYA RIVERA has opened up about her decision to undergo an abortion at the start of her acting career.

The Actress made her name on the hit FOX show playing sassy cheerleader Santana Lopez, but revealed in her new autobiography that she fell pregnant while filming.

Naya discovered she was pregnant just weeks after splitting up from her then boyfriend, Ryan Dorsey, back in 2010.

They have since got back together and Naya is now the mother to son Josey, who was born in September last year.

Instead of carrying the child to term, she decided to focus on her long-term career plans, and terminated the pregnancy on her day off, returning to work a day later.

Naya

She told People Magazine: “It was very scary to open up about everything.

“It’s not something a lot of people talk about, but I think they should. I know some people might read it and say, ‘What the Hell?’ But I hope someone out there gets something out of it.”

The new book, Sorry Not Sorry, also tackles her weight issues – including anorexia when she was a young teen.

She admitted: “If my mom had packed a lunch for me, I’d either trash it or find some excuse to give it away.”

Naya’s frank discussion on her health issues come as she wants to open up the discussion to young women and her son.

She said: “I hope Josey will read it one day. I hope it gives him a better perspective on the issues women face.”

Leave a comment